Warning: Heavy Laptop

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by cmbower, May 25, 2010.

1. I thought you folks might get a laugh out of a little something that happened to me this morning; just an hour ago actually.
    I repair laptops and desktops on the side to make extra pocket money. I'm not an expert but I usually don't have any problems getting them fixed. A fella was referred to me because he needed the display replaced on a Toshiba. Not a big deal, they are pretty easy to do. Anyway, apparently this guy thinks he's somewhat of a computer expert and kind of considers himself a "hacker".
    He brings the laptop in with a replacement LCD panel. He hands it to me in the case and says "be careful, my laptop is a little on the heavy side because I have so much top shelf software installed".
    Honestly, I didn't know whether to sh*t or go blind! Just about the time I think I've heard everything....
    As tempting as it was to explain what an idiot he was, I didn't. I just smiled, said ok, and said it will be done in an hour or so. I figure it's not worth arguing with him and I'm better off just putting in the display and collecting my money ;)

As always, but still amazed,
    Chris

2. Ray

Ray

WOW! That's amazing. I actually had a guy tell me he wanted to paint his car fiery red so that it can go faster.
    But here in Winhost I'm pretty lucky because most of our customers are pretty knowledgeable.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  3. It's that pesky inverse proportion thing rearing its head again. You'll find the people who shout about their skills the loudest are generally the least skilled.