PagedDataSource / DataList Paging / SQLDataAdapter - help need with ConnectionString

Discussion in 'Site Programming, Development and Design' started by Charlie, Apr 7, 2010.

1. I am a moderate beginner to web development. I am using Visual Web Developer 2008 Express, Visual Studio version 9.0 on a laptop with Vista Home Basic.

I have been looking for a solution to page a datalist and was very pleased to find
    http://www.aspdotnetcodes.com/DataList_Dynamic_Paging_PagedDataSource.aspx
    because it appears less complicated than other paging techniques I have found and the results demonstrated look brilliant.

This is the first time I have ever tried using C#.

I got an exception at quite an early stage in the tutorial but persevered to the end of the lesson in the hope that I would find a solution to the exception. Unfortunately I cannot so I would be very grateful if anyone can help.

The tutorial uses a Country database but I use my own database. Aside from that I have all the code from the tutorial placed in my pages and I think I have all the necessary things written at the top of the page -

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using System.Web.UI;
    using System.Web.UI.WebControls;
    using System.Data;
    using System.Data.SqlClient;

There are no squiggly lines under any of my code.

My error comes from line 4 of the below extract.

1 private void BindGrid()
    2 {
    3 string sql = "SELECT [Title] FROM [TableSG1] ORDER BY [Title] DESC";
    4 SqlDataAdapter da = new SqlDataAdapter (sql,"ConnectionStrings:ConnectionString");
    5 DataTable dt = new DataTable();
    6 da.Fill(dt);

The exception is "Format of the initialization string does not conform to specification starting at index 0"

I copied my connection string from my default.aspx page after adding the datasource.