Initial publishing of database(s)

Discussion in 'Databases' started by trkkc, Jun 7, 2011.

1. I am new to Winhost and to web development. I have just copy my website over and I believe successfully published my database. When I attempt to login to website, the login page comes up fine, but I get an error after I enter my username and password (to my website not to Winhost). The error reads "A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible."

In my web.config file, I realized that there is a second connection string to an "ApplicationServices" database. If I recall MS Visual Web developer automatically generates this database to store your security info.

If I am wrong, please stop here and let me know what this is.

If I am right, I seem to have a problem. I am on the basic plan that only allows 1 db. I see three possible solutions.
    1. I have to upgrade to host this second database with security info.
    2. I somehow add these to my one database
    3. There is a simply solution I am missing.

I did notice that there is an "application starting point" on my site managment page. I am not sure if this has anything to do with my application services. Any input would help.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. Ray

Ray

3. Ray, thanks for the reply. I have taken a look at the KB article, and I am having some trouble figuring out the right step.

It appears the article is taking me through steps that are already complete. I have already added the authentication function to the website and it is working fine when I run it locally.

My web.config file contains the following connection string:

<add name="ApplicationServices" connectionString="data source=.\SQLEXPRESS;Integrated Security=SSPI;AttachDBFilename=|DataDirectory|\aspnetdb.mdf;User Instance=true" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>