DotNetNuke question before I buy

Discussion in 'Pre-sales questions' started by SamuelMSr, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Hi all, I hope you are having a great day/week!

I am currently using Go Daddy, and for many reasons I plan to switch. They have no support at all for DotNetNuke, and after being told yesterday by a guy from their tech support "you are not as smart as me and should not even try"....well they are gone and I will never use them again.

I want to know if I use this service if I can host my site here and use DotNetNuke if I can place my install in the root of my domain.

I know that in the KB it says it is not "suggested" because other asp.net stuff will not work, but I do not understand that fully. I am still new with DotNetNuke.

I do not want to have to have my dotnetnuke install in a sub folder and have to tell people my website is at www.samuelmsr.com/<folder> or have a sub domain.

I just want to have a really good place to host my DotNetNuke install and a long term partner to work with.

Thanks!!

Sam
    Samuel M. Sr. Designs

2. Oh and I have another question, hoping someone knows.

If I work on my websites locally on my machine is it hard to then move the finished, or mostly finished, product to the web.

3. Ray

Ray

Each ASP.Net web application carry their own applicaiton configuration files (web.config). There are other things that each ASP.Net web application will also carry, such as its own Bin folder or Data folder. If these ASP.Net web applications are on the same root level, you can imagine they will start conflicting with each other. That is why we suggest to our customers to install/upload their ASP.Net to a subfolder and setup that subfolder as an application folder. By setting it as an application folder, you are telling IIS that the web.config and other ASP.Net objects are isolated within that folder and should not conflict with other ASP.Net web application that are uploaded to other subfolders.