Deploying Silverlight / WCF with VS2010

Discussion in 'Site Programming, Development and Design' started by A Hill, Apr 16, 2010.

1. Hi,

I'm completely new to ASP & ISS but familiar with C# & Silverlight. Please could someone detail the steps for configuration and deployment for this ultra-basic Silverlight app & WCF Web Service using VS2010 Pro & Winhost?

I'm looking for "The correct approach" as much as the actual details, although please assume I don't know where anything is in IIS or VS2010.

Many thanks in advance - I've been wrangling over this for ages now, previously with VS2008. Ideally I want to use VS2010 albeit in .net 3.5 for the time being.

---

1. Create new "Silverlight Application" (.NET Framework 3.5) as "MyWcfExperiment"
    2. Tick "Host the Silverlight application in a new Web site (MyWcfExperiment.Web)
    3. Add a button to MainPage.xaml (conent = "Test .svc")
    4. Add 3 x Textblocks (textBlock1, textBlock2, textBlock3)
    5. Double click button to add click event handler
    6. Right-click MyWcfExperiment.Web in solution explorer, Add->New Item
    7. Select WCF Service (name = "MyWcfService.svc")
    8. Alter void DoWork() to DateTime getTime() in .sc and .svc.cs code bhind file
    9. Add statement "return System.DateTime.Now;" to the code behind file
    10. Save and build projects
    11. Right-click MyWcfExperiment in solution explorer, Add Service Reference
    12. Hit discover
    13. Expand MyWcfService.svc & MyWcfService to reveal IMyWcfService (select it)
    14. Namespace "MyWcfServiceReference" -> Ok
    15. Open MainPage.xaml.cs
    16. Add line "using MyWcfExperiment.MyWcfServiceReference;"
    17. Add the code found below.
    18. Build and run - this will work perfectly as it's local

What is the "correct" way to deploy and configure this given I'm using VS2010 Pro and a basic Winhost account?
    Longer term I want to make some simple Silverlight GUIs hooking up to SQL Server, but one step at a time. :)