Uploaded default Orchard CMS site using WebMatrix but get runtime error on WinHost server

Discussion in 'General troubleshooting' started by DaveClark, Apr 25, 2014.

1. I am new to Winhost and am trying out my first CMS website that Orchard 1.8 provides out of the box. I used Web Platform Installer 4.6 to Install WebMatrix 3 and Orchard 1.8 CMS. I am running Windows 8.1 Update and installed ASP.NET 4.5 from the Turn Windows Features on/off GUI. I am using the Orchard default SQL CE database called, Orchard.sdf. These are the latest versions as of today 4/25/2014.

As a sanity check I wanted to deploy the Orchard website to my Winhost domain into the root. I have the Winhost Basic Plan. I read and reread many tutorials on how to deploy Orchard CMS with WebMatrix to Winhost and followed them exactly. To my dismay, after WebMatrix uploads the site files, I try to run the site and get a runtime error on the Winhost server. The error is generic, "An application error occurred on the server."

It is my understanding that the Basic Plan will service Orchard 1.8 and SQL CE. Is that true? Orchard claims that they provide the SQL CE structure or files necessary to use SQL CE if the host provider doesn't. I am not using IIS at this time because I want to keep things as basic as possible.

I did some reading on this forum and in 2011 some suggested manually uploading 7 DLL files. I checked and already have those files. I re-deployed with Orchard 1.7.2 just in case, but with no success. Same error. I am not using any custom software or custom changes. Just straight out of the box software mentioned above.

I welcome any suggestions. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. ComputerMan

ComputerMan Winhost Staff

We do support Orchard in our environment and you can use SQL CE with it.