is possible for remote access to database data?

Discussion in 'Databases' started by riix, Feb 28, 2011.

1. I'm a software developer, have a client and am trying to find a quality .NET4 / MVC3 / SL4 provider - Winhost looks good so far.

Question - client will have a database, with lots of activity (we hope!). We are building a web-based front end for them, BUT is it possible to use MS-Access on a desktop system in their office and remote ODBC or VPN or anything elsewise connect and have access to their data?

The only alternative I see is to backup regularly and restore at their office location, which is less than great.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly ! appreciated.
    Thx in advance,
    riix

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. rum

rum Winhost Staff

If you are going to use SQL Server database, you will be able to connect to it with MS Management Studio, which is a powerful management and development platform.

3. Ray

Ray

No this is not possible. Remember MS-Access was never designed for this. I suggest you migrate to a SQL server. You can use MS-Access but you have to upload it to the server directly just like any other website file. And if you want to make changes to the Access database, you will need to download it to your personal computer, make the changes, and upload it again to the web server.

4. Thanks for reply Ray but I guess I wasn't clear enough on my issue. What I wanted to know is if there was a way for client to access their data through any kind of direct remote means. The most traditional way would have been through an ODBC connection, which we know is that we set it up on their desktop computer and it 'points' to the remote database. but this is assuming of course that Winhost allows a "remote odbc" style of connection through their firewall - do they?