SOAP alternatives - Help

Discussion in 'Site Programming, Development and Design' started by MrLucky, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Hello,

We have an existing website hosted here that was written with ASP. We are converting it to PHP for more modern features and a new look.

There are several XML web services that get called to access a database for inventory updates. We were in the process of writing web service SOAPs. Upon testing we got an error that no SOAP client was found on the Winhost server.

I contacted tech support who said SOAPS are not supported by Winhost. He suggested I contact this forum for alternatives.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

I am not a programmer but can pass any technical information to my programmer.

2. Ray

Ray

3. Hello Ray,

I have read something about using HTTP for remote web services. I might have mentioned that I am not a programmer. We use remote web services from vendors to obtain inventory updates and weekly product description updates. I recently experienced learning of Web Services. For our last PHP website, the programmer used SOAPS.

I personally have no objection to using whatever works. It is rather disheartening after spending several hours writing SOAPs for our new conversion only to learn from Winhost that the SOAP Client is not Supported.

I feel that Tech Support could have offered more than a 1/2 sentence reply and suggesting to contact this forum. What is the purpose of Winhost Tech Support? Why is SOAP not supported.

I do not want to go down the development path again using RPC or HTTP only to find that it is not supported.

Can anyone at Winhost confirm that Remote Web services are supported by Winhost?

Thanks for your time.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  4. Ray

Ray

Where exactly is the web service at? Is it on our web servers or is the web service someone else outside of Winhost?