RIA Services 'NotFound' exception (MySQL connector)

Discussion in 'Site Programming, Development and Design' started by SeanB, Jan 6, 2011.

1. Hi

I am developing a Silverlight 4 site which uses RIA Services. I am using a MySQL database hosted on Winhost.

When I run my code locally everything works fine. However when I publish to Winhost using Visual Stuido 2010 I get an error, which can be seen by going here:

http://germghos.w04.Winhost.com/dev/sldevtestpage.aspx

When I go to the URL of the actual service that I am calling, here:

http://germghos.w04.Winhost.com/dev/sldev-web-sldevdomainservice.svc

I get another error that doesn't really give me much more information.

I am new to SL4 and RIA Services, I'm normally a desktop developer, and I don't have a clue as to why this code would work locally and not on the server, unless I am missing an assembly or a config entry somewhere.

Can anybody help with this?

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. Just for further info, all of my three entities have a key defined in the metadata like this:

[EdmScalarPropertyAttribute(EntityKeyProperty=true, IsNullable=false)]

I have Googled the 'no key' error and indications are that there might be a problem wth versions of RIA services on my machine compared to the remote machine?

3. I've just done some tinkering with the authentication setup after I found an error in Fiddler that said there should only be one authentication method set up and there was more than one. So authentication is currently set to anonymous.

This has changed the error coming from the service to a 'null reference error', and the same error is shown in Fiddler when I try to load the pages.

It seems this error is caused by the following entry in my web.config file:

<system.data>
    <DbProviderFactories>
    <remove invariant="MySql.Data.MySqlClient"/>
    <add name="MySql Data Provider" invariant="MySql.Data.MySqlClient" description=".Net Framework Data Provider for MySQL"