Still showing "Site is Under Construction" after Nop Commerce site deployed

Discussion in 'General troubleshooting' started by Lori, Apr 17, 2016.

1. I am an application developer new to website development. I just completed publishing a Nop Commerce website but I am still seeing "Site is Under Construction". I've no doubt done something stupid, but I have no idea what...

I published Nop.Web (Nop Commerce v3.70) from Visual Studio Premium 2013 via FTP to site path wwwroot and destination URL straigh9.w19.wh-2.com. (This is our secondary URL, I wanted to test it first before using the primary URL. Perhaps that was a bad decision? I also don't now if I should have specified wwwroot as the site path?)

I have a SQL 2012 database successfully uploaded as well, and the settings.txt file should be pointing to it. I have verified that the code and database are where I think they should be.

So do I need to do some configuration using IIS to get this to work? I am not sure of where to go from here. I tried looking through a number of forum entries and I've done Google research, but nothing I've found yet seems to work.

2. Elshadriel

Elshadriel Winhost Staff

Hi Lori,

I checked your site, and you need to do at least 2 things:

1) Move the site up one file level. (i.e. from wwwroot to the actual root)
    2. Enter the actual password to your database in your settings.txt file. You entered a mask (i.e. ******).

3. OK, I've moved all the files and directories out of wwwroot to the main level, and added a file named settings.txt under App_Data with the password. I also deleted the wwwroot starting point I had defined.

Now when I tried to access straigh9.w19.wh-2.com in the Windows 10 Edge browser I got this message:
    "We're sorry, an internal error occurred.

Our supporting staff has been notified of this error and will address the issue shortly.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Please try clicking your browsers 'back' button or try reloading the home page.