machine.config problems

Discussion in 'Databases' started by Dell, Mar 8, 2010.

1. I'm very new to asp.net and web hosting. I'm familiar with Visual Studio, somewhat familiar with SQL. I've got Nopcommerce running fine on my local machine, have been playiing around today with trying to use VS to publish it to the Winhost server. Was getting errors, mostly related to the correct SQL connection string, trying to understand them and work through them etc. I finally got Nopcommerce to connect OK. So to see if I learned anything I deleted the SQL database and connection string and started over. Now no matter what I do (seemingly) I get the following:

HTML:
    Server Error in '/' Application.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Error 
    Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately. 

Parser Error Message: The connection name 'LocalSqlServer' was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty.

Source Error: 

[No relevant source lines]

Source File: machine.config    Line: 160 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.4200; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.4016 
    This appears with no database created in Control Panel, with a database created in Control Panel, with NopCommerce not having a valid connection string, with Nopcommerce having a valid connection string. I can't find a machine.config anywhere on the website. Any help would be appreciated. I'm stuck.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. Ray

Ray