Having trouble moving site to winhost from another company's server

Discussion in 'General troubleshooting' started by leeer333, Jun 11, 2013.

1. I have moved all of the files and the database of my website and the first page shows up now. If I try to login though, I get an error (see below). The site works with the same database and files on the other server (the only change I made was the connection string in web.config).

I also set the application starting point to the folder that contains my web.config file and other files etc. In doing so however, I had to change the name of the folder because it wouldn't let me choose a file name that had a dash in it (ie "-") and I'm not sure if this might cause any problems.

Am I missing another edit that needs to be done? I don't think it's a coding problem because it works on the other server, but I don't know why it's not working. I'm very new to this....

Here's the error message:

Server Error in '/' Application.

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Source Error:

[No relevant source lines]

Source File: App_Code.4bod_lnj.1.cs Line: 2668

Stack Trace:

[NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.]
    MainDSTableAdapters.ResourceTableAdapter.InitConnection() in App_Code.4bod_lnj.1.cs:2668
    MainDSTableAdapters.ResourceTableAdapter.get_Connection() in App_Code.4bod_lnj.1.cs:2600
    MainDSTableAdapters.ResourceTableAdapter.InitCommandCollection() in App_Code.4bod_lnj.1.cs:2675
    MainDSTableAdapters.ResourceTableAdapter.get_CommandCollection() in App_Code.4bod_lnj.1.cs:2627