Email oddity

Discussion in 'Site Programming, Development and Design' started by Cprogrammer, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Perhaps I'm missing something obvious so please forgive my naivety I'm an app developer and web is still weird for me...
    :p:(
    The client desires a email page that sends its email body to his main email address for the site. Is this as simple as my creating a page for the user to enter their data return email address email body and then formatting that into an email.

I can make the page (MVC 3) View and related controllers but how do I send the email to the address?? Am I over looking something very simple because its a website??

Any references links or insight is greatly appreciated thanks

2. Hope this helps

I had a similar issue. I'm using ASP.NET (C#), here are relevant snippets:

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using System.Web.UI;
    using System.Web.UI.WebControls;
    using System.Net;
    using System.Net.Mail;

try
    {
    lblStatus.Text = "Sending Mail";
    //create the mail message
    MailMessage mail = new MailMessage();
    //set the addresses
    mail.From = new MailAddress(txtFrom.Text.Trim());
    mail.To.Add("[email protected]");
    mail.To.Add(txtFrom.Text.Trim());
    //set the content
    mail.Subject = "SupportRequest/Comment: " + txtSubject.Text.Trim();
    mail.Body = txtMessage.Value.Trim();

SmtpClient smtp = new SmtpClient("mail.yourdomain.whatever");
    NetworkCredential Credentials = new NetworkCredential("[email protected]", "postmasteremailaccountpassword");
    smtp.Credentials = Credentials;
    smtp.Host = "mail.yourdomain.whatever";
    smtp.Send(mail);
    lblStatus.Text = "Mail Sent";
    }
    catch (Exception ex)
    {
    lblStatus.Text = ex.ToString();
    }