Code First - Entity Framework

Discussion in 'Databases' started by coopervegas, Mar 28, 2012.

1. asp.net mvc 3 - basic db connection

Hi, I'm new to web developement. I looked on the forum couldnt find what I'm looking for, appreciate a boost in the right direction.

I'm currently reading an asp.net mvc3 book following along with the musicstore application.

Basically all I want to test is making a super basic application that connects to a db on my website and reads a table; created with the entity framework like the book does.

Am I assuming correctly everything I need to do is just like the book, except I need to figure out my connectionString options?

the example has: (web.config file)

connectionString="data source=.\SQLEXPRESS;
    Integrated Security=SSPI;
    initial catalog=MusicStore"
    providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"

What would I have to change this this variable to get it working?
    And maybe I am wrong and would have to create the database first on the website to get it working, vs. letting the asp.net mvc code do it for me?

Thanks for any help and/or direction to some post called 'idiots guide to using a database with asp.net mvc3.

Or even if there is a simple project in existance i could use as a template or if someone could make one; once i get it very basics up im sure ill be on my merry way building it out, thanks.

2. Well I answered most of my own question I think.. when I created a database using Winhosts control panel it gave me all the info I needed with the connectionString.

I guess my concern that remains is the code-first database creation going to work; I guess trial and error will tell me.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  3. Hi,

I'm following the musicstore sample project in 'professional asp.net mvc3' and got it working locally.

Trying to run it on my website I cant seem to figure out the magic changes I need to do. Looks like a key problem is you cant create a database in code which it does.