Configuring Winhost with Webmatrix. Please help.

Discussion in 'Databases' started by eric wallen, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Dear Ray or anyone who knows. I am new to Winhost and am having a heck of a time getting webmatrix configured for web deploy. After researching for several hours I realized that some users see a connection string in Winhost under database management. I tried to find this in several browsers just to make sure I wasn't an idiot. Any-who, I tried to plug it all in manually (image attached) with no success. Please take a look at my screen shots and let me know what you think. All help truly appreciated. thanks so much. [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. Ray

Ray

3. I have seen that article.

Dear Ray, I currently have a virtual dedicated server that I host all my sites on and am very familiar with FTP. I purchased my hosting with Winhost specifically so that I could use web deploy through webmatrix. Winhost was listed on webmatrix's list of hosting providers that are supposed to be easily configured for web deploy. Also, Winhost posted on their facebook wall that thery were capable of this. So, if I was trying to web deploy a cms that used ms sql 2008 I would have no problems?

4. Ray

Ray

The server name for your web deploy setting is not correct. You only have w05.Winhost.com.

In the KB article it has.

https://[web server].Winhost.com:8172/MsDeploy.axd

Try looking at the kb article closely and follow those instructions. And let us know if you are still having problems.