Website Database Issue

Discussion in 'General troubleshooting' started by pvenkat, Mar 22, 2010.

1. Hello,
    I am relatively new to Asp.net websites, though I have been programming in windows with C++/C# for a long time now.
    I am getting some errors setting up my website. Firstly I got the
    "The connection name localSQLServer was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty" error. I searched through this forums and as per some suggestions, set up this in the web.config like this :

<connectionStrings>
    <clear/>
    <remove name="LocalSqlServer" />
    <add name="LocalSqlServer" connectionString="Data Source=s02.Winhost.com;Integrated Security=false;Initial Catalog=****;User ID=****;Password=****" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>
    </connectionStrings>

Now I am getting the error "System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: Could not find stored procedure 'dbo.aspnet_CheckSchemaVersion".

Ideally I did not want sql server to control the user login. I had user logins set up in the asp.net configuration in the website. I required my connection to db wherein I had a encryption method to store and retrieve password. If I am not mistaken, LocalSqlServer method seems to require some db schemas to be there as a default and uses the password supplied on the conneciton string.
    Any suggestions on how I can 'not' use the LocalSqlServer and use my own and still work with the user roles that I supply on the asp.net configuration ?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks,
    Prasad

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2015
  2. Ray

Ray

I'm not quite sure on what you mean by "Ideally I did not want sql server to control the user login". You need to store the login somewhere, whether it be an XML file or a database the login has to be stored somewhere.